Just when

fm1

Just when

I thought it was enough, I felt another blow
This is a secret, something happened when I was just sixteen
I thought then, the world would give me something back
Some good would come, you never know…

All that happened is I  grew older
Less able to see past old men or broken dolls
As though the scar above my eye was enlightenment
I could see more clearly blinded

Into the white whirlpool, the constant churn
Of this dumbshow,  but oh!
I don’t believe it brought me any benediction
Or special deal because, more shit happened

sooner or later

My pen on paper, always scratching
I told you so….

 

Veronica Aldous 2016 All rights reserved

About Veronica Aldous

Writer and artist, Veronica is a lecturer is Fine Art and Creative Writing. Her first book of poems, 'Moon Cinema' is now available on Lulu.com. Now there is also 'Mortal' her second book.
This entry was posted in poems and tagged , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

4 Responses to Just when

  1. oldepunk says:

    Intense! Love it. Nicely done!

    Like

  2. intrudesite says:

    Poetry indeed ! You are so subtle in your expressions. Hence it hits so hard. Amazing writing. It says a lot more than ” I told you so “

    Like

Leave a Reply

