yromeM

P1160195.JPG
yromeM

We rescued her from the seed merchants, sick kitten full of ticks
We popped them out of her and chucked them on the grate
She grows huge and lustrous, her eyes like fire cracked agate
Black night maiden cat.
Dad likes to see her at the window when he comes to collect me
I sense the  heavy limbs of the trees and am a little afraid
In a  consciously normal way,  the way  I think  people  think-
Knowing I am doing it wrong,

Dad doesn’t talk at all. I like that.  He drives carefully

Leather crinkly Dad-gloves on the wheel.

The road is heavy with blackness and the headlights make giants
Out of everything.  I am thinking of what I will be if I ever get home
If I ever shake off whatever is wrong with me.

There are two strange men nearby:

One is handsome and lives by the road
He wears my boyfriend’s old coat and steel  toecap boots
His Mum gave them away to show charity.
My boyfriend hasn’t got a coat now so we go to Lawrence Corner
And a jumble sale.

Another walks this road every day, all the way from one town to the next
And back, over and over…
He shouts obscenities
My boyfriend sometimes talks to him
He collects madness.

I worry about the man in the woods
He got beaten up by skinheads
I know know know what it’s like…
I’m sleepy now. Home?

Dad is doing his best
He  is probably still out there
Driving.
In dreams I sometimes see him
Sitting on a wall in his beige raincoat
That’s never something he would never have done.
 

About Veronica Aldous

Writer and artist, Veronica is a lecturer is Fine Art and Creative Writing. Her first book of poems, 'Moon Cinema' is now available on Lulu.com. Now there is also 'Mortal' her second book.
This entry was posted in poems and tagged , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

One Response to yromeM

  1. Pingback: yromeM | Veronica Aldous – Poetry and Art

Leave a Reply

